Service-Learning Faculty Fellows Program

Northern Essex Community College began the Service-Learning Faculty Fellows Program in 2014 with the goal of increasing faculty and student participation in service-learning, engaged learning, and civic engagement.  This professional development program offers a stipend for faculty to participate in a semester long training to incorporate Service-Learning into their course design. 

Through the program, faculty

  • Discover ways to engage students in service activities that meet real needs in their communities and enhance their learning of their course objectives.
  • Meet with community members and civic engagement professionals, who will share their expertise.
  • Explore how to develop and sustain meaningful community partnerships.
  • Share strategies to incorporate and implement service assignments and projects that encourage students to be civic-minded and engaged members of their local, national, and global communities.

Check out some recent service-learning project examples and upcoming courses that are utilizing service-learning.

Apply here for the Spring 2020 Service-Learning Faculty Fellows (SLFF) Program!  The deadline to apply is January 30, 2020.

For more info on the 2020 SLFF Program, please view the documents below:


Read the full version of Civic Action Plan 2017-2020

For more information about the Service-Learning Faculty Fellows Program, please contact Paula Richards, NECC Service-Learning Faculty Fellows Coordinator at or 978-556-3209.

Helpful Web links:

The Vision Project Key Outcomes

Campus Compact

Mass Campus Compact

Integrating Civic Responsibility into the Curriculum (PDF)

Bringing Learning to Life (YouTube Video opens in a new window)

NECC Service-Learning Faculty Fellows

Five Service Learning Faculty Fellows with 6 framed certificates of completion on the table in front of them.
Service-Learning Faculty: Amy Cameron, Lance Hidy, Paula Richards (SLFF Coordinator), Patricia Portanova, Marc Mannheimer


Sheila Muller
Krista Titone


Mark Beaudry
Lizzie Linn Casanave
John Daly
Jennifer Fitzgerald
Ginger Hurajt
Shannon Leate-Varney


Mayra Bonet
Doris Buckley
Sara Codair
Jerome Fallon
Lance Hidy
Donna Tanner


Deirdre Budzyna
Theresa DeFranzo
Lisette Espinoza
Lori Heymans
Donna Johnson
Wendy Leeman
Diana Mele
Mark Palermo
Patricia Portanova
Rebecca Rose


Amy Cameron
Michael Cross
Isabelle Gagne
William Gleed III
Jennifer Jackson-Stevens
Amanda Kelly
Brian Knoth
Marc Mannheimer